top of page

Episode 80 | In Like Lion & Self-Care Q&A

Little Cabin Knits is a monthly podcast all about knitting, mental health, advocacy, my new mama journey, and life happenings here in the wilds of Alaska with a little bit of Hygge sprinkled throughout. I’m your host Emily. I am a knitter, crocheter, crafter, mental health therapist, and explorer of my home state of Alaska.


This week’s episode contains:

On the Couch

On the Shelf

Storing Up

Roaming & Foraging

Homesteading

Around the Campfire



Andersmillknits on Ravelry and IG


Support the podcast development through donation on my Ko-Fi account! Ko-fi.com/littlecabinknits

On the Shelf

  1. The Beekeepers Quilt seat Cushion started 2.1.24 Finished 2.21.24 materials: left over fingering weight & mini skeins from Row One Yarns https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/the-beekeepers-quilt

  2. Charity Hearts - 2 - compassion crochet started 2.4.24 finished 2.4.24 Gave 1 each to strangers - no pattern https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/hearts-for-giving

  3. Healing Socks - sock recipe started 5.12.22 finished 2.11.24 https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/scrappy-bias-shawl-2

  4. Positive Potato - Compassion knit started 2.14.24 Finished 2.15.24 gave to coworker who was having a hard time https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/positive-potato

  5. Self-Care House - knit for my self-care travel pouch/kit started 2.13.24 Finished 2.18.24 https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/knitted-miniature-house

  6. Scrappy Bias Shawl - Compassion knit for Liz

Started 9.9.23

Finished 2.23.24

started 2.24.24

Finished 2.28.24

8. Reed by Wanderlanding

started 2.26.24

frogged 2.27.24

9. 2x2 sport weight hat

started 2.27.24

Finished 2.29.24


On the Couch

  1. Scrappy Pillow started 2.4.24 https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/scrappy-pillows

  2. Snowberry Wrap and Cowl started 7.24.21

  3. Mill Hollow Shawl- mother's day for mom started 2.23.24 https://www.ravelry.com/projects/andersmillknits/mill-hollow

  4. Flax Sweater by Tin Can Knits Started 3.1.24 Joining in the MKAL that is being hosted by Jamie of M1 yarns for Back to Basics from March 1 - June 1st https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/flax

  5. Scrappy Granny Tee started 1.17.24

  6. Dixie Creek Test Knit by Salt City Knits started 3.1.24


Storing up

  1. Rebae scarf for mother in law for mother's day using Heatherly from Knit Picks https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rabea-scarf

  2. Fathers day Hat - perhaps using the motif from Halibut sweater https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/halibut

  3. Musselburgh hat for Jeremy https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/musselburgh

  4. fingerless mitts for brother Zack's bday in May - use my own pattern unless something catches my eye

  5. Catholic prayer roper- for self care kit meditation to repeat the mantra:

    1. I love myself as I am

    2.  I speak with kindness

    3. I listen with compassion

    4.  Mistakes are part of my life and help me grow

    5. Today I will breathe deeper, exhale slower, find the stillness in myself

    6. I am grateful for all that I have You can make yours anything you want or feel you want to focus on

  6. Crochet Linen stitch dishcloths I got the yarn Lion Brand Dishy all ready to go bought a cone of light blue and a cone of white - but am thinking these will be summer projects.

  7. 1960s Boho Granny Shawl by Just Vintage Crochet YouTube channel I already bought the yarn and pattern I just have so much already in planning and on the needles that this is going to be my reward https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=en_Kk1jZ6XU&t=4s

  8. Magnus Cardigan - I got this as a kit as a late Christmas present from Mr. Radio. He got me the entire kit from Lion Brand website. Kit came with 4 balls of Wool Ease in the colorway Arrowwood, and 3 skeins of scarfie in the sunset colorway. I doubted I would have enough of the wool ease so I did by a reserve skein on one of my Joanne shopping trips I made recently.

  9. Stella Quilt Cushion https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stella-quilt-cushion

  10. Emotional Support Chicken https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/emotional-support-chicken


Roaming & Foraging

I got a lot of questions on IG and email about my self care practice so I thought I would take a minute to answers some of the questions - I have also replied to each person individually but since it seemed to bring up a lot of feelings in people I thought I could take a moment to talk more about it here.


  1. What exactly is self-care?

Self-Care refers to intentional actions that an individual takes to preserve, improve, or restore their physical, mental, and emotional well-being.


2. How do I know if I need to prioritize self-care?

I you feel stressed, overwhelmed, run down, fatigues, or if you struggle with maintaining balance in your life then these are signs that self-care needs to be addressed more fully in your daily routines.


3. What if I feel that the self-care practices everyone talks about are not working?

This is a very good question. Most places talk about utilizing techniques such as deep breathing, or a short break, getting enough sleep, going for walks, or journaling. These are all very common practices and for a lot of people they work well to recharge your battery. For some though we need to think outside the box. Ask yourself: what is stopping me from feeling rested? Most likely the answer will be that you can't stop thinking about what you need to get done, or that you are being selfish right now because you are not taking care of your loved ones needs with every breath. So some thought restructuring needs to be done around this. First you can fact check: Are your loved ones dying in this moment because you are not caring for them? Have you accomplished some of your to do list items today? Are the things you can't stop thinking about on your to do list time sensitive? I can't answer these questions for you only you can. A lot of times when we feel that we are just not getting anywhere with our self care it is due to our thought process being grounded in negative thought processes.


4. I can't seem to find the time for self-care how do you find the time?

This question is also a very good question and one that is also rooted in the "I can't" mindset. the fact of the matter is that you are being productive and most probably have to many responsibilities on your plate because you keep saying yes to requests. Boundary setting is very important here, as is knowing your talents, resources, and limits (limits is really just another word for boundaries). Let's take a moment and think on the following questions:

What is your top priority in your life?

Where do you enjoy your energies going towards each day?

When was the last time you said no to a request?

How can you set some boundaries around that use of your energy each day while also meeting your priorities and engage in recharging activities?

5. How do I know if self-care is working?

For most of us we are burning the candle at both ends and dealing with burnout. As a result we have depleted our resources to the dregs so when you start utilizing self-care techniques you may not see a sharp increase in your overall well being for a few weeks. It will most likely take you at least a month before you pause and realize that you have more energy then you did a month ago, or that you feel happier, chipper, feel less strained or overwhelmed. - Consistency is the key to regaining your energy levels, and overall mental well-being.


6. How can I practice self-care when I have a disability or chronic illness?

Good question again! A lot of times when people have a disability they focus on all the things they can't do anymore and they feel defeated. I know I deal with this everyday myself. How I have combated this emotion is by taking a look at activities I want to do and then adapt them to my capabilities. When I couldn't knit because of my thumbs, I took up rug hooking and then crocheting both were less dependent on my thumbs interacting with the yarn and thus less strain on my hands. When I couldn't go for walks or exercise, I adapted a bunch of stretches to meet my needs and now my son and I do those everyday often times ending in giggling wrestling matches as we roll around on the floor. So the question isn't what can't you do? but more: How can I make this my own?


7. What if I struggle with anxiety and depression? How can self-care help me with my mental health?

Honestly self-care is the first thing to reach for in times of anxiety or depression. These are the times you need it most. When you are feeling down and helpless or hopeless. Little acts of self care can can be a very positive way to regain hope in your daily life. For me when I am feeling down or depressed it is most likely that I have forgotten to care for myself and my needs. By refocusing and reorienting on yourself - not to the exclusion of others but to provide yourself space to care for yourself, you begin to reground yourself leading to feelings of comfort and energy to put back towards your loved ones all while building hope that things will get better.


Homesteading

Most days I wake up with Jimmy stirring or crying for a diaper change and bottle. He usually starts stirring at 6:30am and so I jump out of bed and immediately go to him and meet his needs first before I have a moment to use the restroom or even wake up properly. This last week I focused on providing myself with some quality time with myself. In such a small space we are on top of each other all day long. There is no place in our little space in Alaska to be alone for any length of time. So I began getting up at 5:30 am, an hour early to have quiet alone time with my thoughts and my crafting. Yes I lost out on an hour of sleep but what I gained was space to think, contemplate, plan, and revel in my crafting without anyone else making any demands on my attention. This has been my self care this week. It has given me time to ground myself in the day and I have found that I have a more positive outlook on my day if I start with this focus.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ep 81 | Spring is in the Air...Somewhere

Welcome to Episode 81 Spring is in the Air...Somewhere. Little Cabin Knits, where every stitch tells a story! Join me, Emily, your guide through the cozy world of knitting, mental health, and the wond

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page